web tracker

Reviews

Click here to add a review

Posted By: Andy and Sue Lovett On: 24th June 2017
"This is related to the 'Simply Unique' review written by Gareth W (one of our friends) and has captured our opinion perfectly in his review.... Spot on Gareth! So I will try not to repeat anything but tell our story...

I had been communicating with Dave for around a year prior to our stay at Beaumont Hamel View guest house.

Originally my wife I had arranged to do the tour last summer but we had to cancel last minute due to problems on my side and postponed the tour to this year.

This was unfortunate at the time, but taking the positives this bought some time to arrange some research on past relatives who served in the Great War and prepared us a little for the tour.

So I provided Dave with the Service numbers of my relatives and for a fee and a few weeks later, he generated information packs detailing their movements, campaigns and detailed information about battles they fought including maps, census records, identity cards, illustrations etc.
All this helped me piece together the snippets of anecdotal information provided by surviving relatives. I can thoroughly recommend these packs, they are fascinating reads.
They are around 20+ pages of detailed info and in one of my packs even stated the position of where one of my relatives fell.

End of last year, a group of us friends (8 of us) got together and booked in with Dave.

It was fair to say that none of us really knew what to expect. I thought the three days would mainly be sight seeing with a few facts thrown in but we were all really blown away by Dave's extremely detailed encyclopedic knowledge of events on the battlefield and in the war and his passion in the subject.
Dave 'refined' the tour itinarary to include some battles and memorials relevant to my relatives and of intertest to the other group.
This was great for me (and the other members of the group found it interesting too) and Dave officiated a touching tribute to one of these relatives at the Pozieres Memorial which was totally unexpected but I am really grateful for.
For me one of the most thought provoking and emotional visits was to the site of the Battle of St Quentin Canal where my surviving relative fought all framed by a detailed description of the battle from Dave.
We visited many memorials large and small, craters (a mega crater 90 Meters diameter), battle sites, trenches, shot at dawn graves, tunnels under a church, a bunker, land marks etc all accompanied by Dave's detailed knowledge of events which brought each place to life and put you back into that time.

To summarise, brilliant, sometimes mind blowing with the amount of information but really couldn't wish for anything different and a real positive experience I will always remember. As Gareth said, you won't better this

To quote Gareth "Roger that!"... Haha Dave..

Many Thanks Dave and Anita"
Posted By: Gareth Williams - Stayed 12 May 2017 On: 17th June 2017
"We recently stayed here with friends for a long weekend in May '17. A friend of ours was retracing his ancestors steps in the First World War.

The guest house accommodation was very clean and comfortable with a homely feel. Dave and Anita were perfect hosts and very accommodating. We started each day with a hearty breakfast, provided by Anita, which set us up nicely for the day ahead.

A packed lunch, provided by Anita, kept us going through the day and each evening we were served a lovely home cooked meal. Food portions were great. Anita is a great cook!

Dave, an ex military man, was our tour guide for the weekend and was incredibly knowledgable and keen to convey this knowledge to us all. His passion for the subject was second to none.

His interest also extends to a passion for WW1 memorabilia and artefacts which Dave used to further explain what life was like living and fighting on the Somme. Few people can say that they've enjoyed a nice glass of wine with friends whilst passing around a variety of machine guns and rifles..!

Being an ex Sergeant Major he was able to give us an insight to military life like no other.
By the end of the weekend we were all saying "roger that..!" :o)

Dave and Anita went to great lengths to make sure we were happy with the tour and were keen to accommodate our needs.

If you're after a detailed tour and experience of the Somme Battlefield I can't think of anyone who could better this. We all came away from the weekend knowing a great deal more than when we arrived and felt we'd had a weekend like no other.

Thank you Dave & Anita."
Posted By: Ailie Hardman - Reviewed May 2017 On: 17th June 2017
"This property is right on the battlefield site of the Great War, with amazing views. I was not sure what to expecting from the tour, and history is not really my specialty. I have to say I've learnt a lot, about what the soldiers faced in battle and the dangers they were put through, back in the day.
The information was plentiful and very well told. The itinerary of our tour was tailored to suit the group and was expertly tweaked to accomade our individual interests, during our three day stay
The couple who own and run the guest house are lovely and looked after our group of 8 really well. Home cooked food, locally sourced. We will definitely go back, there is so much to see and do."
Posted By: Steve Lundy - Canada - Reviewed 21 April 2017 On: 17th June 2017
"This place is amazing. Dave and his lovely wife Anita made us feel so welcome, that I felt like family. In fact now, we are family. Dave has a massive knowledge of the Battles, skirmishes, trenches, both allied and Axis, tunnels and more. Nothing is read from a book, he knows the History. The best part, Dave is retired British Army of over 30 years, so he understands the lay of the ground, the troop movements and Regiments. In other words, he not only can talk the talk, he can and has walked the walk. That's the kind of tour guide I want, and we got it!!! Not some text book wanna be. Daves the real thing, with the passion of the History to go with it. But as an added bonus, he has the personality to go with it. Like he says, "Like a Ninja".
If you or your friends are wondering about a tour, Give them a call. You will not be disappointed.
Now Anita has played a huge part in this as well. She made us a superb breakfast every day, lunch on the road and a home cooked meal every night. The rooms are immaculate, the house is kept spotless and she has a wonderful personality and made us feel so welcome. They are a great team, and I am glad to call them family.
Can't wait to go back."
Posted By: Gordon Brown - Canada Reviewed 18 Apr 2017 On: 17th June 2017
"Excellent!! Dave and Anita are terrific hosts, they make you feel like old friends and look after you better than expected. Dave is a wealth of information on WW1 and keeps you on your toes by quizzing you every now and then. Should the opportunity arise, I will be back. Its a shame there are only 5 stars available as Beaumont Hamel View rates at least 7!! Thanks Dave and Anita for a terrific but short stay. "